SOL Day 6…Football for Dummies

My 13-year-old has become obsessed with football.  He spends hours pouring over his football cards, reading material online, and watching clips of games.  He has become a walking encyclopedia of facts, figures, and stats.  I love to see his passion and enthusiasm, and I love to see his endless quest for knowledge.  I also love that he wants to share this knowledge with me.  He can talk for hours about players, positions, and plays.  However, as hard as I try, I can’t keep it all straight.  I feel like his is speaking to me in Greek.  He quizzes me, draws pictures, and I just can’t make heads or tails of anything he says.  As patient as he is trying to be, most lessons end with him shaking his head at me like I am a lost cause.  And then he made me an offer I could not refuse.

I am forever asking Andrew to be in a mother/son book club with me, and he has ever so politely told me no.  I have even told him he can select the book…and still the answer is always no.  He believes talking about books is not the best use of his time.  Well, you can imagine my surprise when he comes to me with a package from Amazon and tells me he is going to take me up on my offer us to have a mother/son book club. He has even picked out our first book. He hands me the package, and  I rip it open like a kid on Christmas morning.  Standing there with the book in my hand, I can only shake my head and laugh.

Our first book club title will be…

He then pulls a pack of post-it notes from his pocket and says, “Be sure to record your thinking as you read.  You must be prepared to talk about the first two chapters by Wednesday.”  He then turned and walk away.  I could imagine the smirk on his face as he did, and I admit I was a proud mom.

IMG_0686

4 Comments

Filed under SOL

4 responses to “SOL Day 6…Football for Dummies

  1. What a hoot! What a great story!

  2. Love this. I can just see the kid and how proud he is of getting his mom to read a football book. Enjoy.

  3. THIS: He then pulls a pack of post-it notes from his pocket and says, “Be sure to record your thinking as you read. You must be prepared to talk about the first two chapters by Wednesday.”
    If my boys ever say anything remotely close to this, I will be one HAPPY mom! This is amazing, congrats!

Leave a Reply

