I Can Fly

As a child I loved to swing. I could spend hours pumping my legs back and forth taking myself higher and higher until I could almost touch the sky.  I loved to feel my hair whip back and forth in the wind. I loved the butterflies that danced in my tummy the high and faster I went.  I loved total freedom I felt on that swing. When I was on the swing, I could fly. 

Today I went out back to check on my garden.  I walked past the swing set, and I swear it whispered to me to come and swing.  I could not resist. There I was, alone in my backyard, and I climbed on my swing and let myself fly. I let my hair escape the rubber band hold it tight. I let the butterflies dance in my tummy.  I let myself swing until I could almost touch the sky. It was a sweet stolen moment just for me, and for a moment I was transported to my childhood.  It was my favorite moment of the day. 

It is important to never loose touch with the child that lives in all of us. To let go sometimes and just let yourself fly. 



3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I Can Fly

  1. Jen

    This is such a beautiful post! You’ve reminded us to embrace and celebrate our inner child:)

  2. Glad that you took a moment to swing!

  3. Wonderful post! I needed this reminder to “Let myself fly…”

Leave a Reply

