New Start

I love the beginning of the school year.  I love the sharp pencils, new boxes of crayons, never been used markers, and the blank pages of notebooks waiting to be filled with learning.  I love setting up the classroom space and picturing all of the learning that will occur in each carefully designed section.  I love setting up classroom libraries and bubbling with excitement as I think of sharing each treasure with the readers in the room.  I think of the community that will be created.   I love the hopes and dreams that fill the hearts of each and every teacher as they prepare for the new year.  I love the endless possibilities that the new year brings.  All of the goals we set for ourselves and know we are going to achieve.  The new chapter that we all get to write, and we are confident it will be the best one ever written.  The works of art we get to create.  It is easy to get lost in the romance of it all.  Everything is perfect and then the students arrive.   It is at that moment that I have a choice.  I can keep my fire burning bright, or I can allow circumstances to extinguish it.  I choose to let my fire burn on and grow.  I choose to never loose sight of the bright eyed teacher that knows the year will be magical.  I choose to make my dreams a reality.  After all, I am the only one that controls the pen, and each word is worth my best.

 

Happy School Year!  Make it the best one yet!

First Day of School

20140318-215703.jpg

6 Comments

Filed under SOL

6 responses to “New Start

  1. The new year promises much, it takes a dedicated teacher to keep that hope burning all year long. It will be a great one!

  2. I feel exactly the same way! Good luck!!

  3. The newness is what makes September such a magical time. Here’s to a great school year!

  4. So much building up to the anticipation of that first day! Burn, baby burn!

  5. Love your positive vibe throughout this post!

  6. I admire your drive and enthusiasm! Have a great year!

Leave a Reply

