Off the Grid

Our spring break just ended, and I admit I did not complete many of the tasks on my “To Do” list.  I had plans to keep up with my blogging.  Get a few work projects done.  Work in my readers’ notebook.   Just be highly productive.  That did not happen.  I did not complete one work project, and no updates were made to my readers’ notebook.   I missed a few days of blogging.  We were off adventuring, and I just decided to unplug from it all.  I know I broke my commitment, and I feel a bit disappointed.  However, I think sometimes we have to be ok with going off the grid and leaving the “To Do” list behind.

Technology is a wonderful tool, and I am thankful every day for the wonderful innovators that bring the world closer and closer to my fingertips.  But while the outside world feels closer than before, it is easy for the family members inside the home to feels worlds apart.  We can get to a point when our eyes are on a screen more often than another person.  I am just as guilty as my boys.  But last week was a little different.  Last week we spent time riding rides, watching movies, and just having fun as a family.  We did new things together, talked to each other, laughed with each other, and it was just what we all needed.

We are all back on the grid now, but I look forward to going off again sometime soon!

20140308-192914.jpg

 

5 Comments

Filed under SOL

5 responses to “Off the Grid

  1. You know, sometimes we just gotta do what a mom’s gotta do! You were right to unplug and spend guilt-free time with your family. Your line, “our eyes are on the screen more often than another person” is sadly so true. Hopefully now you are rejuvenated and can finish the month stronger! Happy writing!

  2. It sounds like you did the exactly right thing by spending time with your family. Don’t feel guilty at all for that! I know I could work to find better balance between technology and the people and things right in front of me.

  3. I think we should all be required to unplug for at least a week out of the year. It sounds delightful!

  4. Good for you for going off the gird for awhile! 🙂 It’s hard to remember how important that is now that everything is at our fingertips. I am inspired by you and think I too will take a little break from the screen during my spring break. Thank you for posting this and reminding us of how very important it is. 🙂

  5. Sounds like going off the grid was just what you needed…and I think more and more families may find that they will need to do this. You are so right about how our eyes are on the screen more than on our family. I wonder sometimes when I see my little great nieces and nephews so connected to the screen. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

