Thank You

Thursday night we attended Open House. While walking through the gym, my first grader was excited to show me the hot air balloons they had decorated in honor of their principal. She was leaving to open a new school. In the basket of each balloon was the sweet smile of a first grader waving goodbye. Then I found E’s balloon. In true E fashion he was waving his arms like he was about to fall out of the basket. In a sea of conformity, he stood out.
E has his own way of doing things. E sometimes has trouble finding the box let alone stand inside of it. He always questions, and he does not settle for simple answers. He truly sees the world differently. It one of the things I love most about him. However, for many teachers, it is what they find most frustrating in students. There are many teachers that would have made E wave like he was told to do. There are many that would get into a battle of wills when he decided to change the directions for a project. There are many that would try to force him into conformity. But he is lucky. He has had teachers that have appreciated him for and all that makes him unique. So today I give thanks. I give thanks to his teachers for embracing a child that wants to wave his arms wildly inside of just waving nicely. Thank you for supporting his creative mind and allowing him to be E. May each child be as lucky as mine has been.

20140308-192914.jpg

6 Comments

Filed under My boys, SOL

6 responses to “Thank You

  1. I’d bet Mr. E will have a big impact on the world. 🙂 I’m glad you are not worried about his ‘out of the box’ thinking. I think more teachers need to embrace students for who they are and what they can add to the learning process. They would be less stressed!

  2. E sounds like a special guy… how lucky his teachers are to have him and wise they are to allow him to be himself.

  3. Your post speaks to me personally tonight. I too have a first grader and he often marches to the beat of his own drum. It wasn’t until I became a parent, with a student in school that I really began to see the other side of teaching. We as teachers, have such an amazing amount of power and responsibility to guide these little lives. It sounds like E is blessed to be cared for by teachers who aren’t afraid of letting him be the best he can be!!

  4. I want to be like those teachers! You are blessed that your son has had such great teachers!

  5. He sounds like a great kid! I’m glad his teachers have appreciated who he is. I try to balance the needs of the individuals with the needs of the class, but it’s a tough balancing act as a teacher. Some days I get it right, but some I don’t.

Leave a Reply

